NACA Announces 2016 Consumer Advocate Award Receipients

Release Date: 
October 5, 2016
| Filed under: 
| Tagged with: 

National Association of Consumer Advocates Announces Awards at Annual Meeting

Release Date: 

October 5, 2016

For Immediate Release

Contact: Ira Rheingold;

Phone: 202.452.1989 ext. 101

[Washington, D.C] — [October 3, 2016] – The National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Annual Consumer Advocacy Awards. These award recipients represent the best of consumer advocacy across a variety of fields. The awards will be presented at NACA’s Annual Membership meeting, which will take place on Friday, October 21, 2016, at the Hilton Anaheim Hotel in Anaheim, CA, from 6:00 p.m. to 7:15 p.m.

The award for Excellence in Consumer Journalism is being given to David Lazarus of the Los Angeles Times. David has shown great dedication in reporting on and exposing issues faced by consumers across the country.  

The award for Consumer Advocate of the Year is being given to Phillip Robinson of The Consumer Law Center LLC and Scott Borison of Legg Law Firm, LLP. Phillip and Scott recently did great work in a class action jury trial against LVNV Funding LLC, gaining the largest judgment ever against a Maryland debt collector ($38 million). Thanks to their work on this case, the judgment will be distributed among nearly 1600 individuals who were part of the class action. 


The National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA) is a non-profit association of attorneys and consumer advocates committed to representing customers’ interests. NACA members are private and public sector attorneys, legal services attorneys, law professors and law students whose primary focus is the protection and representation of consumers. NACA also has a charitable and educational fund incorporated under §501 (c) (3).