Settlement: When to Hold 'Em and When to Fold 'Em

Tuesday, May 12, 2020, 3:15 p.m. ET–4:15 p.m. ET

Gain insight into strategies to settle your FCRA cases at the appropriate values


Sylvia A. Goldsmith (B.A. and J.D., Ohio State University) is the founder of Goldsmith & Associates, LLC, a consumer protection law practice concentrating on identity theft and credit reporting litigation, debt collection abuses, personal and financial privacy rights, and other consumer protection issues. Goldsmith has had numerous favorable decisions in the FCRA arena on cutting-edge issues ranging from the applicability of the FCRA to nontraditional consumer report information, from automated underwriting reports and criminal background checks to the willful violation of the law for the impermissible access to consumer reports post-bankruptcy.

Dave Maxfield runs a boutique consumer protection practice in Columbia, SC. He’s the three-time chairman of the Consumer Law section of the South Carolina Bar and the past president of the Richland County Bar Association. He has represented thousands of individual consumers in cases against banks, credit reporting agencies, and insurance companies. Dave has taught nearly 100 Continuing Legal Education (CLE) programs and speaks regularly in the media. Dave became obsessed years ago with how law firms might use Lean methods and technologies pioneered by the manufacturing world to run more profitable practices. The Lean Law Firm is the culmination of years of trial and error with such systems, translating Lean practices into a simple, month-by-month template that law firms can use to become more profitable.

Mark D. Mailman has concentrated his practice in consumer protection litigation since co-founding his firm, Francis & Mailman, P.C. in 1998. Mark has litigated thousands of FCRA and FDCPA cases. He has been certified to serve as class counsel by state and federal courts in both contested and settlement class actions. In October 2018, Mark was awarded the 2018 Consumer Attorney of the Year award from NACA.